A number of variables influence the amount of solar that can be installed in a community, some of which a municipality can control and others it cannot. In Connecticut some towns have a lot of tree cover and old housing stock - two barriers that can prevent high solar PV installation. Other studies have shown that high degrees of social interaction can influence solar PV adoption in a town (Bollinger 2012).

Unfortunately, there is no existing grouping structure that adequately pairs towns based on variables that are relevant to solar PV. However, all municipalities in the state are part of a regional councils of government (COGs). Regional COGs are organized geographically and provide a platform for municipalities to work on land use issues and other topics of common interest. In the absence of solar related groupings, COGs provide unique benefits relevant to the scorecards. They provide a forum for sharing municipal solar activities and permitting practices and a forum for collectively working on improvements. For these reasons we used COG memberships to establish peer groups for municipalities.

In addition to the nine Regional COGs, the scorecards include one additional group for municipalities that only receive electricity from municipally-owned utilities, specifically Bozrah, Norwich and Wallingford. These municipalities, which are only served by a municipal owned utility or cooperative, are ineligible to participate in state incentive programs that assist residents installing solar. Some municipalities are partially served by a municipal utility. In those cases, the parts of municipalities are served by either UI or Eversource are eligible to participate in state incentive programs.

Click on a group name below to see its members.
Andover Avon Berlin Bloomfield Bolton
Canton Columbia Coventry East Granby East Hartford
East Windsor Ellington Enfield Farmington Glastonbury
Granby Hartford Hebron Manchester Mansfield
Marlborough New Britain Newington Plainville Rocky Hill
Simsbury Somers South Windsor Southington Stafford
Suffield Tolland Vernon West Hartford Wethersfield
Willington Windsor Windsor Locks
Bridgeport Easton Fairfield Monroe Stratford
Lower CT River Valley
Chester Clinton Cromwell Deep River Durham
East Haddam East Hampton Essex Haddam Killingworth
Lyme Middlefield Middletown Old Lyme Old Saybrook
Portland Westbrook
Naugatuck Valley
Ansonia Beacon Falls Bethlehem Bristol Cheshire
Derby Middlebury Naugatuck Oxford Plymouth
Prospect Seymour Shelton Southbury Thomaston
Waterbury Watertown Wolcott Woodbury
Ashford Brooklyn Canterbury Chaplin Eastford
Hampton Killingly Plainfield Pomfret Putnam
Scotland Sterling Thompson Union Voluntown
Northwest Hills
Barkhamsted Burlington Canaan Colebrook Cornwall
Goshen Hartland Harwinton Kent Litchfield
Morris New Hartford Norfolk North Canaan Roxbury
Salisbury Sharon Torrington Warren Washington
South Central
Bethany Branford East Haven Guilford Hamden
Madison Meriden Milford New Haven North Branford
North Haven Orange (Wallingford)* West Haven Woodbridge
(Bozrah)* Colchester East Lyme Franklin Griswold
Groton Lebanon Ledyard Lisbon Montville
New London North Stonington (Norwich)* Preston Salem
Sprague Stonington Waterford Windham
Western CT
Bethel Bridgewater Brookfield Danbury Darien
Greenwich New Canaan New Fairfield New Milford Newtown
Norwalk Redding Ridgefield Sherman Stamford
Weston Westport Wilton
Municipal Utilities
Bozrah Norwich Wallingford
*These municipalities are fully served by a municipal electrical utility and are in their own group.